3.  To determine your Type of Driving and self certify:  

      Review definitions of Interstate/Intrastate commerce and Non-Excepted/Excepted types of driving in steps 1         & 2 and determine if you are Non-Excepted Interstate (NI), Non-Excepted Intrastate (NA), Excepted Interstate       (EI), or Excepted Intrastate (EA).  

      If you have a class A, B, or C CDL or CDL permit you must certify to one of these 4 types of driving .

Important Points to Remember:

  • Whether or not a driver requires a USDOT Medical Examiner's Certificate depends on whether he/she self certifies as Non-Excepted or Excepted.
  • A USDOT Medical Examiner's Certificate is required if you self certify to any of the two Non-Excepted categories (NI or NA).
  • A USDOT Medical Examiner's Certificate is not required for Excepted types of driving (EI, and EA).
  • If you do not drive in any of the Excepted categories listed you are Non-Excepted (either NI or NA) and you  will be required to carry a USDOT Medical Examiner's Certificate.
  • Note: If you drive in both Excepted and Non-Excepted commerce you must  certify as Non-Excepted in order to be certified to drive in both types of commerce.

1. Types of Commerce:  Interstate (I) v.s. Intrastate (A):  

​     Determine the type of  commerce you are involved in.

Interstate is when you drive from one state to another state or foreign country (or your commercial motor vehicle crosses at any point from one state to another state or foreign country)
If you drive only within your state but the cargo is part of a trip that will end in another state or foreign country.

Another useful way to look at interstate v.s. intrastate commerce is to look at the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) definition.

Example of Intrastate: A New York commercial driver is considered Intrastate if he/she only drives in New York and does not  meet any of the requirements listed for Interstate driving.

Note:  If you drive or plan to drive in both Interstate and Intrastate you must certify as Interstate.


FORMS ​ (Downloadable)

NYS DOT Physical Examination Downloadable Forms

Commercial Driver License Holder (CDL), Commercial Learner Permit Holder (CLP) must certify to the type of driving they perform or intend to perform.  Follow the 4 steps below

Call: 718-701-5949


DOT Medical Examiner



New York ​Medical Certification Requirements

How To find a doctor to perform your DOT Physical Examination:  NY Certified medical Examiners

  • First locate a certified USDOT Medical Examiner by searching the online  National Registry of Certified Medical Examiners (NRCME) website. This is the official listing of the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA).  It is the most comprehensive listing, regularly updated and is provided free of charge for all to use.   You can select an examiner by location or by name.

  •  DMV appointment:  Schedule online.  Make a  reservation; reschedule or cancel a reservation.

4.  Submit your USDOT Medical Examiner's Certificate


Medical Certification Unit Contact Information:
Fax: 518-486-4421 or 518-486-3260
Email: dmv.sm.cdlmedcertunit@dmv.ny.gov

Mail to:
NYS Department of Motor Vehicles
Medical Certification Unit
PO Box 2601
Albany, NY  12220-0601

           NYS Department of Motor Vehicles:


                  Phone numbers  


Call Us:  718-701-5949 /     


2. T​ype of Driving:

     What kind of driving will you do?

Non-Excepted (N) v.s. Excepted(E) Driving​.  What is the difference?

​Excepted Driving applies to drivers that only drive in the following way:

  • As a federal, state or local government employee.
  • Driving fire trucks or rescue vehicles.
  • Transport of propane winter fuel during emergencies or in response to emergencies pipeline conditions (i.e rupture, or leak).
  • Drivers involved in the transport of school children or staff between home and school.
  • In certain farming, harvesting, and beekeeping related activities (Includes use of farm machinery as well as allowable distance of transport from the farm).
  • To transport migrant workers.
  • To transport human corpses or sick or injured persons
  • As a private motor carrier of passengers for non-business purposes
  •  Certain drivers who obtained their CDL prior to  September 9, 1999.